Richard Challoner School

T Levels

These are still a fairly new qualification but now we have local providers offering these for the first intake in September 2023.


Kingston college are providing- Accounting, Education and childcare and Finance

Nescot are offering- Digital support, Education and childcare and Health (Adult nursing)

Merton are offering Education and childcare


Here are some important points regarding the qualification-

 T Levels are a qualification after GCSEs. 

T Levels require a minimum of 5 x GCSEs at C/4 or above, including a grade 4 in Mathematics and English Language

Equivalent to 3 A Levels
T Levels are an alternative to A levels, Apprenticeships and other 16 to 19 vocational courses. Equivalent in size to 3 A Levels, a T Level focuses on vocational skills and can help students into skilled employment, higher study or an Apprenticeship.

A 45-Day Industry Placement
Each T Level includes an in-depth industry placement that lasts at least 45 days. Students get valuable experience in the workplace; employers get early sight of the new talent in their industry.

80% Classroom, 20% Work
T Level students spend 80% of the course in their learning environment, gaining the skills that employers need. The other 20% is a meaningful industry placement, where they put these skills into action.

Grading and certification

Students who complete their T Level get a nationally recognised certificate which shows their overall grade and a breakdown of what they have achieved.

The T Level certificate includes:

  1. an overall grade for the T Level, shown as pass, merit, distinction or distinction*
  2. a separate grade for the core component, using A* to E
  3. a separate grade for each occupational specialism, shown as pass, merit or distinction

It also confirms that the student has:

  1. completed the industry placement
  2. met any additional mandatory requirements

A student’s overall T Level grade is worked out from the grades they achieved on the core component and the occupational specialism(s).

Students who do not pass all elements of their T Level get a T Level statement of achievement which shows the elements they have completed.

If students have attained maths or English qualifications at level 2, this is also referenced on T Level certificates and statements of achievement.

Entry to higher education and UCAS tariff points

UCAS tariff points

T Level overall grade

A level


Distinction* (A* on the core and distinction in the occupational specialism)









Pass (C or above on the core)



Pass (D or E on the core)


T Levels provide several progression options for students, including:

  1. skilled employment
  2. an apprenticeship
  3. higher education

To help T Level students progress into higher education, UCAS tariff points are allocated to T Levels.

UCAS points are allocated to the overall T Level grade. Students must achieve at least an overall pass grade to receive UCAS points.